Musepack Forums  

Go Back   Musepack Forums > Main > General

Old 01 April 2010, 08:17 am   #1
Eyeballs

Default Listening tests

As Im new to Musepak I was wonering after reading that it has been mainly optimised for muse at 170kb if anyone on here has done any comparison tests with other bit rates?
I downloaded a few other types of formats and tried them out on my Iaudio X5 with a pair of klipsch x5 headphones and used the bit rate 128k.And for the life of me I couldnt tell any difference between mpc at 128k and other formats with much higher rate.I was very suprised and delighted to be honest .Unless Im going deaf in my old age.
Has musepak been optimised for 128k or is it just that good anyway?
One last question please ,how does it compare with battery useage with other formats?
Thank you.
Last night at work I encoded 15 gb worth of music .Busy night at work .LOL
Eyeballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2010, 09:42 am   #2
Buschel
The Man

Musepack was not optimized for target bitrates, but it was tuned for reaching stable quality. Different quality settings will result in different bitrates. Typical bitrates for transparency for trained ears (=no difference to original audible) might by in the range from 170-220 kbps.

In general musepack is one of the fastest decoding lossy formats, and therefore one of the most efficient regarding CPU/battery usage. Nevertheless in real life this depends on your target, firmware and the codec implementation.
Buschel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2010, 09:23 pm   #3
Antonski
Veteran Member

Send a message via ICQ to Antonski Send a message via Yahoo to Antonski